DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
01/2013
Country
EU
State
Earth
Hi,

I am not very good at words that explain certain physical feelings. The word fatigue is one of them. It simply confuses me. Is it supposed to be the same as 'exhaustion', for example?

I often hear people take a nap when they are exhausted or are fatigued. But with me, when I am exhausted (=when I feel completely burnt out), I just have to lay down, close all windows, curtains and create my calm cocoon and make my mind zone out, but I cannot fall asleep.

On the rare occasion that I can take a nap, I wake up feeling just the same exhaustion, but a little less 'sleep-deprived'. does that make sense to anyone?

So this is what fatigue feels like for me;
- every physical action I have to take, is an effort. Often a calculated effort. For example: 'Ok, now I will get up and put a basket of laundry in the washing machine. One, two, three, up I go...'

- on a very bad day/hour, little things become a huge effort - from lifting my arm to move that one hair in my eye or to get up to go to the toilet after holding my pee for very long.

- on a medium fatigue day/hour, I can get up, but I can only do one thing and then I have to rest again, to do the second thing. For example; take a shower. stop. lean against the wall in my bathrobe. dry myself. stop. dry my hair. sit down. breathe X 20. get dressed. sit down...

- I also often feel breathless - but I don't know whether that is fatigue, exhaustion or just my lungs telling me my body is working hard.

What about you?

Hi Vickythecat,

That's exactly how I feel. It's su... lol.
Everything has to be thought out. I just lied down because my plantar fasciitis was acting up and I couldn't walk.

I want to take a shower, but I have to get the energy to get in there., and wash myself.
Prior to this I wouldn't have thought twice about thinking before doing something.
The shortness of breath I have too.The fatigue causes it.