Blog about being young with fibromyalgia

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Metra,
I am young and have fibromyalgia. Ive have it since i was i kid but recently diagnosed and now im a college student and one understands young people in pain. I don't know how many times ive been told "you are to young to be in pain" over and over for years and sometimes i want to just shout at them, but i don't because i know they mean well. It makes me a little more depressed every time i hear it. When i was a kid my mother told me all the pain was just growing pains. I knew something else was wrong, but as a kid if your parents wont take you to the doctor then it is hard to know what to do. As i was growing up my dad would call me a wimp and my other family members would often say I was faking it to get attention. It's really hard being young and in pain because half the time no one believes you.

Hi,

You are never too young to be in pain if you're dealing with something such as we are! I too was told that when I was in my late twenties and still am told now at 45! We have no control over the hands we were dealt physically and people who never experienced such may never know. Know you always have people who believe in you and can come here to whine, cry, or vent whenever you want. We're all in this together!

Soft and gentle hugs!!! :)