Pregnancy & Fibro - experiences, advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ghostgirl

Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
03/2014
Country
US
State
MD
Hi all!
I’m new to the forum! I’m Maggie, and I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia a month before my first pregnancy in 2014. Because of the fact that I was new to both, I wasn’t sure how it affected my pregnancy. I had a rough go of the whole 9 months and had a 28 hour labor followed by an emergency C-section.
The last three years my fibro waned a lot, until these past 6 months when it’s ramped up significantly. Last week I found out I was pregnant again (yay!) but I want to get a better idea of how to handle it. I don’t want a repeat of last time when I was in a lot of pain and had a terrible labor.
Could you all share any stories or advice about pregnancy and fibro? The Internet has surprisingly little info, and my OB/GYN is not well versed in it at all.
Thanks, I greatly appreciate anything you can tell me! :)

Hi, Maggie,

I'm brand new to the forum as well. I'm sorry - I don't have any advice on fibro and pregnancy; however, I'm hoping to become pregnant soon. I'm very nervous so I definitely appreciate your post. I hope you don't mind a question - were you on any fibro meds during your pregnancy? I'm on Low Dose Naltrexone and Cymbalta. I'd love to get off both, but I'm not sure how I'll respond.

Hey!
I had been on a high dose of Aleve before I found out I was pregnant, and had to discontinue that, but wasn’t on anything else for Fibro. I was on Prozac at the time, and the Dr was ok with that. Good luck in your future pregnancy adventures! Hopefully you’ll have an easier time of it than I did :)

Thank you! Good luck with your pregnancy! I hope you feel better this time around.