New Member (Say Hi)
Registered Member

rhionna is on a distinguished road
New Member (Say Hi)
Registered Member
City: Tampa
State: FL
Diagnosed: 10/1981
Interest: I have Fibromyalgia, chronic pain, or chronic fatigue.
Default Everything feels SO LOUD!

Does anyone else have an issue with things feeling way too loud? I work as an engineer in a manufacturing facility and whenever they open/close the large bay doors it feels like my ear drums are going to vibrate to the point of imploding. For a while, I thought that my sensitive hearing was due to some damage to my ear when I was younger and I had an infection in the tubes that drain. I lost hearing, actually, but even with some hearing loss I feel like loud things are SUPER loud!

I can wear ear plugs at work, but at home it occurs too. My partner will watch TV and if it's at a reasonable volume, I feel like it is too loud. As a result, I will get a headache and sometimes will avoid being around a television when it is on. Does this happen with anyone else? Is that part of fibro/CFS?
Old 02-07-2018, 07:01 PM #2 (permalink)
New Member (Say Hi)
Registered Member

Nick is on a distinguished road
New Member (Say Hi)
Registered Member
City: Vantaa
State: Uusimaa
Diagnosed: 01/2015
Default Re: Everything feels SO LOUD!

Yes, noise sensitivity, often combined with light sensitivity, are part of fibromyalgia and CFS. I suffer from noise and light sensitivity as well. Loud noise (for example, by a passing train, or a bunch of talking people around me) can make me feel nauseated, dizzy, and increasingly anxious, if there痴 no escape from the situation.