Reason
Undiagnosed
Diagnosis
12/2017
Country
US
State
Massachusetts
So after hurting and aching and moping around for years, my rheumatologist thinks I may have fibromyalgia. And it makes a certain amount of sense -- in my mid 30s I really shouldn't ache all over this much, a poke to basically every trigger point makes me jump out of my skin, and the list of "other" symptoms is basically my personal biography (the jaw troubles, the headaches, the tummy trouble, the anxiety, the marathon running in my sleep, the temperature sensitivity, even the dry eyes). I'd like to pretend that I don't get the fog, but I think that's there, too -- it just manifests primarily as extreme frustration when I can't solve problems at work (I'm a web developer).

But what has me thinking it can't be is that I'm still enjoying my exercise of choice... karate. And not just the forms and going through the motions of the strikes and throws, but some super rough and tumble sparring. I'm still just at an intermediate level, but I spar weekly with the black belts, and I get hit all the time because it's known that I can take it. At the same time, everybody at the dojo knows I'm hurting during certain combinations -- one of the most common exchanges between whoever's running the class and me is "if it hurts, don't do it!" with me shooting back "if we wait for me not to hurt, we're gonna be here a while."

And I can say without argument that I'd rather take a solid kick in the gut than deal with the constant ache and cattle-prod spasms that my body throws at me on bad days.

So is it possible to be able to take a punch without a flinch yet still hurt like mad just from a tap in the wrong spot or a change in the weather? The divergence between the me that can't hardly get up from a kneeling position after tying my belt and the me that can knock my sparring partner crosseyed with a crescent kick to the ear in the same evening is just too much for me to get my head around.