Reason
Undiagnosed
Diagnosis
05/2010
Country
US
State
OH
I had a friend posted something to his FB page. Gave me a laugh and I thought it was fitting:

Take the Face Punch Challenge. Help spread awareness of Fibromyalgia and Donate money to Fibromyalgia research. At the same time, get a taste for what it is like to live with FMS.

Face Punch Challenge, Go.

I've had fibro 17 years, but even on my worst days cannot imagine comparing it to ALS which is the cruelest, most awful disease on the planet and (to date) has no cure. While I'm certainly in favor of research for fibro/CFS/ME, I pray nightly that a cure for ALS will be found. If you are unfamiliar with ALS, take a moment to read about it and you'll see why fibro is a mere PIMPLE by comparison.

Last edited:
I totally agree with you. I was a med tech in the Air Force and took care of patients with ALS. I would slowly watch them go from walking to becoming totally bedridden. They would want to help so bad but knew their bodies would not respond. I wouldn't wish any condition that causes pain on anyone. Anyway to raise money for a good cause is a great thing.

It seems people are not understanding the spirit behind this post. I am sorry that it is being misinterpreted and it is making people take it personally. It is not meant to be in any way a comment on ALS. I think what people are doing with the ice bucket challenge is wonderful. At the same time I found inspiration in it and after seeing this post from a friend, I started wondering if there was a way to raise awareness (and help stop the stigma) of FMS. I don't think this diminishes ALS any more than wearing pink for breast cancer awareness does.