Reason
Undiagnosed
Diagnosis
01/2014
Country
US
State
CA
Hi everyone. My name is Jayelle and I'm new here. As you've guessed, I'm also new to fibro...or at least having a diagnosis.

Has anyone else had a hard time just getting a doctor to listen to you? I've been told everything from, "Well, we can't find out what's wrong so we're not going to do anything for you." to "There's no point in finding out what's wrong." Yes, that last one is a direct quote. A doctor actually said that and then sent me to physical therapy stating, "the only treatment for back problems is physical therapy." The physical therapist just about had a stroke when I told him what she said. He also said that my problem wasn't muscular and that I needed to see someone for skeletal or nerve pain.

Well, now the pain isn't only in my back anymore, and I realized that I had to tell my doc I don't want pain meds so she would take me seriously. That was about 5 months ago. I wasn't diagnosed until this month when I brought a friend with me who also has fibro. My chiropractor had suggested that might be at least part of my problem "along with an overactive sympathetic nervous system between the neck and tailbone" and undiagnosed scoliosis (even though you can plainly see that my spine is curved, I have yet to convince the doctor to even look at it, so I'm not diagnosed).

*sigh* My fibro has progressed a lot over the last year and I've reached the point where I can't think clearly, and I've had consecutive days with high pain levels I never knew that pain alone could be so exhausting, or that it would be so consuming. I've even had to go to the ER a few times (but, there's no point finding out what's wrong, right? grrrrr!).

Oh there is so much more to say but I don't want to go overboard here. lol I just want to say that I thought I knew what pain was. Even as little as 1 1/2 years ago my whole thought process about chronic pain was completely different.