DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
5/2014
Country
UK
State
Wales
Hello everyone

My name is Nicola, I'm 21 years old and live in Wales, UK.

I was officially given the diagnosis of fibromyalgia today after years of joint pain finally cumulated in getting an examination from a rheumy and then an Isotope scan.

Today I got the results from my GP. There were no signs of inflammation on the scan, so no arthritis, but the rheumy's report stated that I was tender in 14 of the 18 trigger points for fibromyalgia and so here I am.

My GP has given me a few weeks supply of amitriptyline and some information on the condition and has told me to have a read and do some research to see if I'm happy using medication or if I'd rather try something else first. I'm hoping to learn helpful hints and tips here and when I've learnt enough pass it on to others too.

Although I'm new to the diagnosis, I've had joint pain since I was 12 (started just in my shoulders/neck) and systemic joint pain for around 2 years now. I also have other health conditions - coeliac disease, asthma, osteopenia, crohns disease, tachycardia and elevated blood calcium so I'm no stranger to tests and medications.

Hello Nicola. I'm sorry to hear you're having a tough time. But I want to welcome you to the forum. Here, we all have dealt with FM ourselves or with someone else close to us so know that you are not alone. You can share anything with us, and we are here to help. Welcome :)

Hi Nicola.... welcome to the forum! :smile:

I agree that reading and research is a great first step. Actually this forum is a really good place to start... go to some of the older threads and you'll find a ton of information there, plus a lot of thoughts about how others are treating fibro and dealing with the pain in general.

I am sorry you have to go through this. You are so young and it sounds as if you have been in pain for quite some time. With some of the other conditions I wonder, have they evaluated for auto immune disorders?