Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
08/2016
Country
US
State
OH
Hello, my name is Jillian, I'm 25 years old and last week I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia after numerous tests came back negative for other conditions. I've been noticing joint pain and fatigue for about three years (about the same time I was diagnosed with PTSD) but over the last six months my symptoms have only worsened. Initially I thought it was a bad IBS flare-up, and possibly Crohns or colitis since those conditions run in my family, but my digestive symptoms would come and go, leaving constant joint pain and fatigue. My colonoscopy, upper GI, numerous blood tests and imaging came back completely clear. This , along with symptoms and pressure points, led my doctor to believe fibromyalgia is the culprit. Nothing has improved. I have my "okay" days but most of the time I'm in widespread pain and no matter how much sleep I get, I never feel rested. I'm getting married next November, have no children and work full time. I'm an optician with an optical retail chain so my job entails standing on my feet for long hours on hard surfaces every day. At first I was relieved to have the diagnosis but now that it's sinking in, I'm terrified. This has affected every facet of my life. Luckily my fiancé is supportive but I'm still so overwhelmed with housework and daily tasks I simply can't keep up with. My doctor started me on gabapentin, one a night for a month and to increase it gradually, but I don't feel like it's helping. I'm glad I found a place where I know I'm not alone! Thanks for having me. -J

Welcome to the family,I hope we can help you cope better.
I'm on gabapentin,600 mg.what has your dr started you on.do you sleep ok at night?.a lot of use don't sleep right. We don't go into all stages of sleep, so we wake up just as tired as we went to bed.these are all things to talk to your dr about.