Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
06/2015
Country
US
State
wa
This is my first time ever going online for help, but I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia 2 days ago. I'm ok with the diagnosis, but when I told my mother she immediately became infuriated! She basically flipped out on me and said it is a fake condition and she is absolutely disgusted by anyone who seeks out this diagnosis... So here's the kicker, my mother is a fairly prominent member of the local medical community (been a nurse for 40 years and is in management at very large clinic )... I'm still in shock and I really don't know what to say or do in regards to my mother completely dismissing me and basically telling me I'm full of shit? Do a lot of people feel like she does about fibromyalgia? I'm seriously afraid to tell anyone else for fear of backlash... I promise something is wrong with me, I'm suffering, I'm not making this up.

Hi there, I am brand, so very brand new and looking through posts, honestly nervous to start. Creative avoidance? Actually, paralysis by analysis...research in order to feel productive without ever actually doing something...go me!

Your story is a punch in the gut because it is an excellent representation of my own fear playing out. I know fibro is real and those who discredit its legitimacy really are being small minded at best, which is exceptionally disappointing if they are connected to you AND part of the health community. You know you feel pain. You know you were honest. You know you went into this looking for help. And yet...what if? Oh the perilously pernicious doubt constantly bubbling just beneath the surface. All it takes is someone else delivering a well placed blow to crack the shell :/