DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
09/2015
Country
US
State
AR
Hello there,

I was just diagnosed Friday with Fibromyalgia. I've been having symptoms since 2014 when I was hospitalized for major Costochondritis pain and inflammation. But since then, it has worsened and was not just Costochondritis. My life has changed since the beginning of this year, and I have had to slow things down a lot. I am so glad to have found this forum and look forward to being a part of it.

Thanks everyone!

Welcome! I HAVE FOUND THIS SUPPORT GROUP SO HELPFUL.

I was diagnosed with costrochondritis about 18 years ago. It would occasionally flare up and then calm back down. That first time though it was so bad I couldn't put on my seat belt. So was it really costro or was it fibromyalgia? I'm sorry you are in pain and that you were diagnosed. I'm a newbie too. Welcome to the forum. It's a good place to learn and vent :)

Welcome to the group. We hope to support u the best we can, and would love to here any tips u may have on coping with fibro x

Hi Butterfly_Ocean,
I was going to shorten your name to just your initials, but then I thought no not a good idea. I had such painful costrochondritis one day on left side that I thought I was having a heart attack. So did the Drs I even had a stress test and heart cath. But it wasn't my heart, it was the fibro. I was a teacher for 16 years but now I'm on disability because it was just to hard to keep up with the students and the workload. I hope you all feel better. Take care.

welcome Butterfly........this is a good place to make fibro friends...i have had it for 7/8 years but recent increase in symptoms brought me here ...a safe place to turn t others who understand and offer tips to help you cope.

My tip to you bearing in mind my own experience is to avoid getting stressed (not easy i know) as best you can. I have had some big emotional upsets in my time and am sure it brought on fibro and recently made it a lot worse.