Status
Not open for further replies.

QuieroQueso4108

Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
03/2023
Hi all,

Firstly, thank you all for being here. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia last week after having all sorts of symptoms for quite some time. I have been reading about it and I do agree with the diagnosis. I am feeling a bit overwhelmed by the diagnosis and its implications on all sorts of aspects of life - I work part-time in a relatively active job and I am also a mature student training for a career in the legal profession.

I have not told many people about the diagnosis yet. I have been seeing a clinical psychologist for several months for a variety of mental health related issues. She knows that I have been having a number of unexplained physical symptoms for a few months so I thought it would be worthwhile to tell her about the diagnosis and talk it over a little. I was hoping to come out of the session feeling better about it but her reaction was basically "oh well, never mind, it could be worse!" I am feeling quite confused now because I know that the pain, fatigue, etc. are absolutely real but she has left me doubting myself as to whether I am overreacting and whether I am going to be taken seriously by medics about this. I am feeling quite upset by it to be honest, partly because I thought she would be one person who might empathise but also because it has made me feel like I am overreacting and making a mountain out of a molehill.

Am I being reasonable in feeling very alone with this? Am I right in feeling overwhelmed and having trouble coming to terms with this? Even when I Google 'Is Fibromyalgia Serious?' I can't seem to really find an answer.

Thanks everyone.

Hi, and welcome to the forum.