Diagnosis
10/2019
Country
US
State
SD
** I am new to board and very new to FM ***

Within a month been seen by 2 primary. Rheaumatologist and Endocrinologist
After Rheaumatologist said it was Fibromyalgia and I took a FM/a blood test that said 97% positive

I wrote in to my primary yesterday and asked if I can get a handicap placard ( because since August this has snow balled so quickly by afternoon my legs are very weak most days). Just to use on days that it’s to much. I typically use shopping carts to hang onto but finally broke down and bought a cane Incase I am not at a store with a cart or if I am already there and it sets in because to be honest if I am that bad I wouldn’t be out. Anyway I am so confused about FM and new and now I am embarrassed for asking for a handicap placard.

This was her reply ....
“Fibromyalgia is not a diagnosis appropriate for a handicap sticker, in fact increasing exercise will help treat the fibromyalgia and walking further from the parking spot will actually help the disease”

So how embarrassing I wasn’t trying to park closer for being lazy. In fact I will trade anything so I would park always the furthest spot away if I can get rid of what’s going on. Is this FM or do I have something else to. Seriously I am confused. It’s hard for me to look through so many stories on this forum and believe we all have issues because we are not walking farther and we all don’t exercise

Dooi

Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
06/2012
Country
CA
State
ON
Well I don't know if her advice was medically accurate. Depending on the level of Fibromyalgia pain that day, walking may not be possible due to pain and discomfort. It is well known that exercise can help, but there are limits due to pain some days.

I have known people that receive disability for Fibro, so why wouldn't a disability parking sticker be in order?

I think there's a lot of misinformation being given by this "doctor". You must be very frustrated.