Not open for further replies.

hope

Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
State
TX
Does anyone have suggestions on how to maintain physical exercise, even through dealing with this condition? I don't mean rigorous exercise, but gentle exercises that can boost patient morale. Some of my patients have gotten depressed that they could not keep up with workout regimens, so I was wondering how others have worked around this challenge. Any easy workout suggestions?

I find just doing everyday activities can help, stuff like walking my dog, vacuming or painting a wall. Lift weights and such really isn't an option.

Here's an old article about exercise for people with FMS that helped me.
A Patient's Guide to Fibromyalgia Exercise

I would suggest water exercises. Swimming could help. I would also highly recommend performing exercise in a few feet of water, as it is said to be more comfortable. I am a freelance writer and I have recently had to write on the benefits of water exercise as a form of pain management, along with staying fit. It made me think of FIBRO pain immediately.

I would suggest water exercises. Swimming could help. I would also highly recommend performing exercise in a few feet of water, as it is said to be more comfortable.

That is absolutely a great idea.
One of my friend's grandmothers has fibro and her doctor suggested swimming because it is less strenuous than other activities. She swims every day and says it may actually help her pain.

You can do yoga, and water exercise is good as well if you want something fun yet less extraneous.

Swimming and yoga are two activities that my doctor recommended for me. I suggest you also get expert opinion.