Not open for further replies.

GRC109A

Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
10/2021
Country
US
My favorite hobby has to be Amateur Radio (AKA "Ham Radio).
I've been a Ham operator for several decades.
Ham Radio is a multifaceted hobby - allowing me to be as technical, social, outdoorsy, emergency 'prep' or reclusive as I feel like at the time.
Don't feel like a voice chat? I'll use Morse code and key, or, text via computer/keyboard and radio transceiver.
Bored in a hotel room (or lockdown)? I might stick a bit of wire out the window and see what I can raise up on a small transceiver.
Too tired to chat? I may just give the Amateur bands a listen, or see what the local emergency services/public safety are doing, by way of my scanner.
Want some company or something to listen to during my early morning exercise walk? I'll bring a small handheld transceiver along.

Last edited by a moderator:
My favorite hobby has to be Amateur Radio (AKA "Ham Radio).
I've been a Ham operator for several decades.
Ham Radio is a multifaceted hobby - allowing me to be as technical, social, outdoorsy, emergency 'prep' or reclusive as I feel like at the time.
Don't feel like a voice chat? I'll use Morse code and key, or, text via computer/keyboard and radio transceiver.
Bored in a hotel room (or lockdown)? I might stick a bit of wire out the window and see what I can raise up on a small transceiver.
Too tired to chat? I may just give the Amateur bands a listen, or see what the local emergency services/public safety are doing, by way of my scanner.
Want some company or something to listen to during my early morning exercise walk? I'll bring a small handheld transceiver along.
That's a very cool hobby!

My other hobby (although I've been slacking lately) is amateur photography.
I use a basic Canon digital camera that allows me to download my pictures to any computer (or to email them).
The cameras in many smartphones are getting better, so this is a way to get started.