DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
08/2014
Country
US
State
VT
Greetings and Salutations!

I admit that I've been reading this forum for a while but only created a profile when I was ever so subtly instructed to (as in no more reading posts until you do). Now I can read the posts again but I'm prompted to post... so here I am.

I'm new to the fibro diagnosis. The issues that I have were officially given a name just over a month ago but I suspected it prior to that. It was just a matter of actually getting into the correct medical hands before real treatment can begin.

While I've been experiencing symptoms for years the connection was never made until now. This is partially due to my lack of desire to see a doctor for anything. What was most common through everything was that every fall I would get sciatica. The pain would usually last until the end of winter and my body would be just fine for the summer hikes.

This last winter never seemed to end if you ask my body. Finally in June I realized that the sciatica was only getting worse. Short story long I was sent to PT for a buldged/herniated disc. During the PT that was only making things worse I was put on prednisone. The same day my entire body lit up. I had never felt so much pain... and everywhere. My poor husband had no idea what was going on.

It was only then that I seriously began my research. I was able to connect what I was feeling at that moment to other symptoms that I had seen the doctor for previously. Sadly, this episode only really started to taper (after the amazing aqua PT) right as the fall weather moved in. Enter another flare up.

I feel as if, physically, I have not really progressed at all this summer. However, with the help of the PT instructions and resources such as this site, I feel as if I'm much stronger mentally. I now have a clear path that I'm slowly traveling that, hopefully, will ease the pain of the winter and get me in better shape as a benefit.