Not open for further replies.

ToniD

Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
08/2022
Country
US
👋Hello, I've recently been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia [on the 3rd to be specific] and I have little to no knowledge on what would help it, what are all the symptoms [common or rare], or even what it is really..
I only know from my rheumatologist that it can cause nearly all of the symptoms I deal with every day, like pulse fluctuations, chronic pain, chronic fatigue, and poor temperature regulation.

I'm also wondering if there's anything else that are common symptoms?
And is it normal for fibro to be diagnosed in a 20 year old, while also dealing with symptoms since age 14?
And does it effect life expectancy at all? I don't think it would, but I'm worried that it does..?

Thank you for taking your time to read this btw!!
Any help at all is greatly appreciated, also if anyone has good resources/links on information let me know, thanks!
Sorry if I'm not using the forums right btw, I've never really used a forum site before 😅

hello and welcome!

while not super common to be diagnosed so young, it is not unheard of either. many suffer for years and years before being diagnosed.
FM is not a death sentence by any stretch of the imagination (it wont kill you), but it will be something you will need to learn to manage for the rest of your life since there is no cure at this time. There are plenty of good resources to be found both here, and other reputable sources.

Sunkacola has some great advice and ideas to help cope here. Diet can quite often have a big impact on how we feel, so trying some of her dietary suggestions may be worth your while.

Lots of great information throughout this forum, as well as general support and empathy.

Hope you can find some relief, and calm, here :)

I second cookiebaker's suggestion to start by reading this post:

If you have questions, feel free to ask. We are here to support you.

Hi Toni - great of you to reach out! That will get you a long way.