Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
01/2021
Country
US
State
TX
If you have read my previous post you may remember I’ve had FM for 7 years but was finally diagnosed early this year.

Working full time has been a struggle for sure and it’s been getting more difficult as time goes on. I know my quality of life would get better if I didn’t have the stress of work.

Fortunately, I have been working for the same company for many years and I’m at the early retirement age so I could if I want to but we would be accepting a lower lifestyle. I would be perfectly fine with that but I doubt my wife would. She has been supportive but has a tendency to not understand my limitations and when I brought up early retirement a few months ago, it did not go well. She thinks I should keep working so I don’t give in to the illness.

So my problem is, what do I say to convince her retirement is what I need to improve my mental and physical wellbeing?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Gosh, that is a hard situation to be in.
On the one hand, it can be understandable she doesn't want to change her lifestyle.
But, more important is your health and well-being.

First, retiring is NOT "giving in" to the illness. If you broke your leg, would she insist you not "give in" to it and you should run a marathon?
If you had diabetes, should you "not give in" and therefore not take insulin?

If you have fibromyalgia, resting when you need to, lowering stress, eating well, and so on are the things you have to do in order to have quality of life. there's nothing about this that is "giving in". It is taking care of yourself. If you feel that retiring would improve your quality of life, that is not "giving in".

In fact, the whole concept of "giving in" to an illness is completely inappropriate.