Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
03/2011
Country
uk
State
oxfordshire
I am still learning how to use this kind of website, I have only just started to use fb, please let me know if im not doing it right. ;-)
Just wanted to ask if anyone who has fm also has or have had problems with bursitis?
I have bursitis in both my hips and knees and have had it since I was 16 after playing football from the age 6, I had knee operation when I was 20 but have still suffered ever since, I have read through google that the two could be linked just wondered if anyone else has bursitis in any joints?.

Don't worry about doing right or wrong here - there are wrongs here really :)))

I also suffer from bursitis (and tendinitis). Mine is in the shoulders and I have had it since I was 18. I had all kinds of treatments, months of physical therapy, injections, medication. I found that rest and icepacks/heatpads are what help me the most. Whenever I asked doctors whether there was link between this and fibro, they said that bursitis and tendinitis are 'normal' with a diagnosis of fibromyalgia.

The way I see, my body always had the tendency to have fibromyalgia from the start. It started showing this at an early age, as a kid my injuries always took longer to heal for example. So while a normal health body could fight off bursitis/tendinitis in any region (it is usually caused by overuse or an injury), my body just had the bad luck of 'being overly sensitive' and could not fight it off. So it just stayed there....then with all the stress of life, injuries, little bumps and bruises along the way all added up and that is when full blown fibro 'woke up'. Maybe you can relate as well, since your injuries started at a very young age as well.