Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
04/2014
Country
US
State
Massachusetts
I'm new to this, I was just diagnosed this week. Right now my pain is usually not severe enough to have a huge impact on my daily activities (other than making them downright unpleasant). I work with animals and I'm on my feet all day, lifting, etc, and my boss is one of those people who doesn't "believe" in Fibromyalgia, despite being a vet and a chronic pain sufferer herself. I also have been trying to keep exercising a few times a week, but I'm nowhere near what I was able to do a year ago...I know it's different for everyone but I'm really worried I'll have to change jobs or stop doing the one thing that controls my depression and anxiety...should I expect the pain to get worse the longer I have it? Or does it just stay the same aside from flare-ups?

I personally wouldn't say ti does. Indeed over time you learn your own personal triggers and remedies so even if the Fibro itself stays the same you learn how to manage it a lot better. I wouldn't say it really better inherently better either, but maybe that's just me. I hope you learn how to deal with your Fibro over time.

For me it got to a certain level of pain gradually and never any worse. But I'm learning to control it through diet and supplements. Any form of sugar, including even one strawberry, will give me a flare up. Grains slow my whole digestive system down, which causes the fibro to ache. So I only eat grass fed meat and organic veggies without sugar or starch and a few types of tree nuts. The pain is gone most of the time. I have a naturopathic doctor working very closely with me, but you can figure out dietary triggers on your own through elimination diets. I am very certain that cod liver oil and tumeric pills are also making a huge difference in controlling my pain too.