DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
10/2015
Country
US
State
TX
Hello everyone,
I am completely new to all of this (fibromyalgia). I have some questions and hopefully you all can help me. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia 2 weeks ago by my pain management DR.

He put me on Gabapentin 600mg / 3 times a day. It seems to "help" but does not completely take away all of my muscle and joint pain. I have been seeing my pain management DR. for about a year now for a bulging disc in my neck. He has given me 4 epidural steroid injections in my neck for that. It is all better now.

I was on hydrocodone 10mg / 4 times a day in the beginning for my neck pain. It was pretty severe pain. Then we went down on the dosage as my neck got better. I'm also on Flexeril.

My psychiatrist has me on Pristiq, Valium, Amitriptyline (for sleep). I've been on these meds for about 7 years, prior to the neck problem and fibromyalgia. I'm also on Topamax for migraine headaches. I have depression and anxiety also.

My pain management DR. has me down to 7.5mg / 2 times a day of hydrocodone. This is because we have been "weaning" me off of it due to my neck getting better. This was also at my request. I wanted to "get off" the narcotics.

Now, I'm having second thoughts. My body is in constant pain from the fibromyalgia. The Gabapentin helps but not enough. I have been having these terrible symptoms for about 2 years prior but thought they were caused by being old and fat. I am 47 and have gained 75lbs. in the last 2 years.

So........should I ask my pain mgmt. DR. for an increase in the hydrocodone? I'm scared of what he will say and that he will think I am a "drug seeker". I've also had to quit my job due to this, it was just too physically demanding.

Thank you for any replies,
Maddy