Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
10/1981
Country
US
State
FL
Does anyone else have an issue with things feeling way too loud? I work as an engineer in a manufacturing facility and whenever they open/close the large bay doors it feels like my ear drums are going to vibrate to the point of imploding. For a while, I thought that my sensitive hearing was due to some damage to my ear when I was younger and I had an infection in the tubes that drain. I lost hearing, actually, but even with some hearing loss I feel like loud things are SUPER loud!

I can wear ear plugs at work, but at home it occurs too. My partner will watch TV and if it's at a reasonable volume, I feel like it is too loud. As a result, I will get a headache and sometimes will avoid being around a television when it is on. Does this happen with anyone else? Is that part of fibro/CFS?

Yes, noise sensitivity, often combined with light sensitivity, are part of fibromyalgia and CFS. I suffer from noise and light sensitivity as well. Loud noise (for example, by a passing train, or a bunch of talking people around me) can make me feel nauseated, dizzy, and increasingly anxious, if there’s no escape from the situation.

Bright light (either artificial or natural) strikes me sometimes so hard that my vision is blurred by the continuous stream of tears. I just walk around most likely looking like I’m in extreme emotional pain. Because of the light sensitivity I turn on the lights at home only when it’s necessary. I prefer darkness and I'm more comfortable with being surrounded by natural daylight than artificial light, but sometimes all it takes is a few seconds in bright daylight to trigger the terrible reaction in my eyes.