Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
01/1995
Country
US
State
PA
Back in the days when I was working I did housecleaning for many people. As my illness got worse I dropped one job after another until I had no work at all. I tried doing craft shows and yard sales, and made a bit but not much to live on. But it made me realize how much fibro robs you of the things you enjoy doing and the things you get paid for doing.
I do crafts and baking, sewing and babysitting sometimes.

So my question is if you work, what kind of work do you do?
And if you are not working do you do hobbies or babysitting, or anything to earn pocket change?

How badly do you think that fibro has ruined your life and your families lives?

I used to be a mechanic and do some construction and landscaping. I loved having very physical jobs. I spent a long time being my x husbands carer who was at least twice my size. Lugging about a fifteen stone bloke ain't easy. My past lives haven't made it easy on my poor body.
I miss not being able to move big stones and replace half my garden or knock walls down.
Now I have an office job now and even though less physical has it's own complications. Sitting for long periods of time makes me ache and you can't have a nope when you get wiped out but it's at least something. I guess there will come a day when I can't even do that. When that day comes I still have my crafting to fall back on to keep me busy and I might even be lucky enough to sell some.

I am actually still a housekeeper. I do not work as many hours as I used to though. I have taken a major hit as far as my income goes. But I have no choice but to cut back on hours at work. My two sons are both older now and they both work and do help with some of the utility bills. But the burden of our rent is on me. So I go one day at a time. it is all I can do. It is all any of us can do.