Not open for further replies.

Dobeigh

Diagnosis
07/2012
Country
US
State
OH
Has anyone taken Vicodin and noticed a dramatic decrease in their fatigue? I took it because I was having a very bad arthritis flare up and noticed that I had so much energy! I also noticed this energy when I took my vicodin after surgery, as well. I talked to my rheumatologist and she told me that it is very common for people with fibromyalgia to be energized by vicodin. Too bad it's a narcotic because I feel like I could clean the whole house and do a million different things when I take it. It is so tempting to take it more often than I need for pain just so I can get the energizing effects. But I don't. Tonight, I called in to work because I was just so dang tired and I couldn't bare being oriented by a girl who doesn't even want me to be there (I'm a new nurse). It is only a PRN job so I'm not worried about getting fired or anything but dang! I should have just took a vicodin and got me some Starbucks and kept on trucking.

Dobeigh,
I always worry when I hear of people taking narcotic drugs. They are so addictive and after a time more and more are needed to get that high feeling. I took it for a short time after a hospital visit. It did a good job of masking the pain so I could get better, but I was glad to stop taking it. It gives you the feeling that all the pain is gone and like you said, you could do anything again. But that thrill is short lived because if you do go gunho and over-do, the pain will be twice as bad as before and you will be tempted to take more. As a nurse you should understand that using high doses of vicodin and doing the work you do is not a good mix.