Not open for further replies.

WarriorPrincess12

Diagnosis
11/2013
Country
US
State
CA
Hi all: I am a newbie to the world of online support groups but unfortunately not unaccustomed to having pain and health issues since my early 20's. I was diagnosed with an autoimmune related disease in my mid twenties. Months ago I began experiencing chronic pain, and tenderness all over my body, in addition to fatigue that was unusual. After waiting for months to see a rheumatologist, the day before Thanksgiving I was tentavively diagnosed with Fibromyalgia based on symptoms, physical exam and no evidence of another cause of my symptoms on my lab results. It was a relief in that the doctor confirmed my suspicions that something abnormal was going on, yet at the same time it was a bit depressing as I have another illness to try and manage/cope with.

I have been doing my own research, outside of the suggestion by my doctor to try Cymbalta, as to possible treatments and causes of fibromyalgia (based on studies, not hypothetical ideas). Since the true cause isn't known, I feel overwhelmed with all the treatment suggestions such as cutting out gluten, taking a bunch of different vitamins, etc. Some things seem reasonable and some completely over the top, with no real proof that it provides any long term relief. So for right now I am feeling confused and a little down knowing fibromyalgia does not just go away but may be manageable with the right treatment. But what is the right treatment?

Thanks for hearing me out.......:smile:

Hello and welcome to the forum. I wish I could say what the best treatment could be but everyone is different. I am allergic to most all the meds used for fibro, so I have had to stick with one med for years. But really the best thing I can recommand is too cut out the stress in your life. Life is stress and only so much can be controlled by you, but what you can control needs to be trimmed back.