Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
09/2015
Country
US
State
CA
I am a 60-year-old California lawyer, diagnosed a couple of months ago. My husband has advanced Alzheimer's and I suspect the past 5 years of caring for him has taken a pretty big toll. I have tried Cymbalta, Trazadone and Ambien but nothing has helped yet. I cannot remember sleeping through the night - it has been at least a year. First, hubby was wandering in the night and peeing everywhere, so I was on high alert but he lives in a memory care facility now because I had a major flare of ulcerative colitis (now controlled by Lialda) and 9 months later, I still can't sleep more than 2-3 hours. The pain has been my companion long enough I cannot remember when it started. I take 2 tabs of Naprosyn twice a day and that usually keeps it at a dull roar, although I shouldn't take so much NSAID with ulcerative colitis.

I do weekly yoga therapy and regular massage and I listen to guided imagery for fibro every day. I eat well - mostly Paleo - have no alcohol and I have never smoked. I work full-time, attend church weekly and visit my husband most days - too tired for anything else and worried whether I can keep working. (Necessary for husband's care costs and insurance.)

I would love to hear how others of you have managed to keep going. I feel on the verge of collapsing. Thanks!

Gosh thats a lot of activity and stress with fibro. To be honest the only way to keep fibro at a more manageable level is to reduce some of the demands on your body physically and mentally.

I don't know anything about the Us care or retirement pension system but if it is any kind of option maybe you should consider retirement as keeping going at that rate is like trying to live a normal life not a fibro life where pacing rest as well as moderate activity is the key.

I feel for you and wish you luck. Take Care