Not open for further replies.

missbetany

Diagnosis
08/2010
Country
US
State
WA
This is my first time on this or any other support forum. I am admittantly a little nervous. Well, here goes nothing: I have spent most of my life with no insurance. I knew that I had pain, but I didn't know what it was or why. I haven't had the easiest life, so I figured that the pain i felt was a wonderful side effect of that. Then I got Kaiser insurance. They diagnosed my pain as fibromyalgia and we set about finding a treatment plan that worked for me. Five years went by, and my pain was annoying, and it wasn't always easy, but I had a great doctor that really cared about me and my quality of life. I didn't have any idea how good I had it. My insurance was through my husband who worked for Kaiser. In 2012 I found out that my wonderful husband was actually a p.o.s. cheating liar who was fathering children with other women. Of course I kicked him out and filed for divorce. Of all of the things that I was thinking about and dealing with while my whole life was changing around me, I hadn't even considered how terrible the loss of my insurance would be. My doctor was helpful and optimistic, and he gave me two months worth of rx's so that I would have what I needed while I found a new dr. I had these rx's filled, and I discovered that my copays through my work insurance was the same as they were through Kaiser. It totally lulled me into a sense of false security. I thought everything would turn out to be okay after all. Wrong. I have spent weeks trying to find a dr/ who believes that I am really in pain and who doesn't think that my meager 30 percocet a month is not an outrageous request. I am so terrified of not having the pain medication that I need when the pain comes - and it always comes - I would actually say it borders on panic. I don't want to have to live in pain all day every day, and I thought that in this day and age of medical capabilities no one would have to go through some