Not open for further replies.

mastiffmom

Diagnosis
06/2012
Country
US
State
Mississippi
I am fairly new to fibro - was diagnosed right at a year ago. I just found you guys yesterday (yay!).

I have struggled tremendously with medications - the side effects on some are horrible, others do nothing for me. I think I have come to the conclusion that I need to stop expecting a miracle in a medicine bottle and start looking into other things that help.

I am starting a VERY low exercise routine - trying to push myself through it, as I understand that is key.

What does everyone else do? Had any successes (or failures)?

As far as exercise goes, I know it's helped my overall pain tremendously. But I'm very seasoned about exercise and for those with fm, ONE thing is extremely important: you MUST listen to your body. Do the exercises your body feels like doing.

For example, I try to go to the gym every day...and I never go with a "plan." But, when I get there, I decide what my body feels like doing....usually it's a cardio sit-down machine, because as you probably know, I think most fm sufferers can't stand for very long especially when it comes to working out.

Then, when I've done as much as I possibly can while still remaining "comfortable." I do weight lifting, again listening to what part of my body can handle it.

Stretching I think is a blanket that helps everthing, for me.

Good luck! Don't give up.

Exercising sounds like a good first step if your body is able to tolerate it. I know that during flares, my friends with fibro say that it's next to impossible. By the same token, they don't want to stir it up by doing too much on the good days, either, so it becomes one of those vicious circles.