Newbie here, well new to the forum but not new to Fibro.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jonny K

Reason
Undiagnosed
Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
UK
State
ST
I'm 56, male and p----d off, I've lived with Arthritis for near 30yrs now although only officially diagnosed for 20yrs. I've suffered with CFS and RLS for about 10yrs although only officially diagnosed for around 5yrs, and only recently diagnosed with Fibro although I've suspected it for around 5yrs. I've been passed from one doctor to another for all manner of tests and been prescribed loads of pain meds, had steroid injections, scans and physio but nothing helped effectively, and now that they agree that it's Fibro, they've sent me for therepy,, Psycho therapy that is, to help with the depression as they think I might take my own life....

Hi @Jonny K , and welcome to the forum.

Your story is not, unfortunately, all that uncommon. I don't know if it helps to know this or not, but most people with fibromyalgia have gone some kind of route similar to yours....being sent from one doctor to another, undiagnosed, nothing that really helps, and often ignored, dismissed or thought to be malingering.

Is it true that you are in danger of taking your life? If so, please know that, while this is a choice that I believe every individual is entitled to make, it may very well not be necessary for you to do that. Most people do that in order to put a permanent end to the pain, whether it
is mental or physical or both. While this is understandable, it is an overreaction most of the time simply because there are other ways to, if not get rid of the pain, at least reduce it enough that life can become worth living once again. And sometimes all that takes is time.

Basically. doctors don't help a whole lot with fibromyalgia for most people. Most drugs are either not effective or/ad have side effects that are worse than living with pain.