Anxious about Fibro

Status
Not open for further replies.

wedaweda

Hello there,

Im new to that forum. I (male 37y/o) suffer from anxiety for the last three years.
My fears are always around my body (core fear loss of control / lifelong suffering) but _not_ regarding a life-threatening disease.
For the last 12 Months I'm obsessing (literally obsessing) about fibromyalgia. This is my worst fear to get it.
There is basically no medical test to rule it out.
Im so drained about this obsession already, I cannot stop to listen in my body. I developed a variety of symptoms including joint pain (all joints, no swelling or redness), sleep problems and fatigue/brainfog episodes, burning skin and light sensivity. 1-2 trigger points do hurt from time to time.
I feel nobody is able to help me. I'm in therapy and my therapist seems very clueless how to deal with my problem. They keep saying it is some form of hypochondria but I don't visits doctors to get re-assurance, as there is no test to rule out.
I now set up an appointment at a rheumatologist but the appointment is in 3 weeks.
I had episodes of anxiety in the past creating the most weird symptoms that all turned out to be anxiety. And then I think too much anxiety destroys the ZNS and it will result in Fibromyalgia.
I feel trapped and completely drained. I dont literally know what I should still do. My therapist wants me to prescribe SSRIs which im afraid to take because of potential side effects.
Can anyone share some light with me please? Any advise is also highly appreciated

Hi wedaweda, and welcome to the forum.

If your therapist is not helpful to you in dealing with your anxiety, which does seem very high, then I recommend you get a different therapist who can deal with this better. You are not stuck with the one you have if it is not helping you. Your using the word "clueless" tells me that you definitely need to be working with someone else!