Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
10/2022
Country
US
State
VA
I always had delayed onset muscle soreness after exercise, but since I’ve been diagnosed and after each flare up (after illnesses) this has become my major problem. I used to feel it the day after working out or maybe the next day which I know is normal (I’m a retired Physical therapist) but now I can start feeling it immediately, even with the most gentle ex, low weights , low reps . I’m trying to find a balance of how much discomfort to accept so as not to get any weaker than I have gotten from becoming deconditioned.
Any suggestions ? I do make sure I’m hydrated, eat a balanced diet .. it’s been the most frustrating part of having fibromyalgia for me (which I’m grateful that my symptoms are not more severe)

This has been the most frustrating part of having fibro for me as well, so I completely understand what you are saying.
I used to lift weights seriously; I really loved it, was very strong and muscular, and I know how to do it right and how to build up slowly and all of the things that you also know very well from your own experience and extensive training as a PT. I tried for years to work my way back very methodically and with great determination to being able to do a modified weight routine and I am afraid I must report that it never worked for me. I ultimately had to come to terms with the fact that weight lifting and that kind of workout is simply not something I can do any more at any level.

This doesn't mean the same thing is true for you! I am only telling you this because it might be the case for you as it is for me.